Skip to content

Beer Review – Premium Yebisu “All Malt Beer”

by on 1 April, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Format: 334ml glass bottle  Cost: $3.50 (normally $4.50)  Purchased from: Tokyo Liquor Type: Dortmunder / Export Lager  Origin: Japan  Strength: 5% abv.  Selected by: Dan

Yebisu is Sapporo’s Premium brand.  The gold label looks great, and reflective of the beautiful golden colour of the beer itself.  Pouring it in the glass releases an amazing sparkle.

Conversation Highlights:

Dan: That’s fantastic.  Sparkle’s good, Colour.. ooh. (burps loudly).. Wow, I’d say what we have here is a very pilsener style of beer, which is quite at odds with the “all malt” note.

Chris: Coming from a wheat beer, it’s definitely very lager-esque, I have to be honest, it’s a nice crisp beer, nothing special.

Gareth: Getting cherry but it’s not quite cherry.  It’s like cheap glace cherry.  Not a lot of flavour but it’s got a … sweetness.

Dan: It’s a pilsener style lager.. almost.. not hoppy enough.  I don’t think I’d call it a malty beer at all.

Chris:  It’s an enjoyable beer… I wouldn’t buy a case of it, but I wouldn’t say no if someone offered it to me.

Josh: That is an interesting fruity smell .. I’m just trying to work out what it is, it’s not quite cherry, it’s .. it’s almost like a berry — raspberry jelly mix.  That’s it.  Raspberry jelly mix. is it Hansell?

Steve: No, Gretel.  I can get just a hint of it, but it’s very faint.

Gareth: That’s most like it aye.  The rest of the beer is all about that flavour on the tongue that just stays there. It hits the tongue, it spreads, and then it just stays there.

Dan: Feels like .. coated.

Chris: Yeah, coated.  Because after tasting a strong wheat beer, I can’t taste the wheat beer at all.

Dan: Votes – would you drink this again?  I probably wouldn’t bother.

Josh: This could go with fried food in the pub.

Dan: But if you wanted to impress people,  this would probably work, because noone would have heard of this before.  It’s a little unusual.  And not expensive.  It’s pretty, I love the gold label, it’s very cool.

Chris: I was gonna say, it looks almost green.

Matt: My inital thoughts are fizzy urine…

Chris: If your urine looks like that.. you may have kidney problems.

The Low Down:

The jury was out a bit on this one.  The golden colour and sparkle are a sight to behold, and whilst some of us detected “raspberry jelly” notes, some could not.  Leaves the tongue feeling coated.  Would go nicely with Fish and Chips, cool label, but overall — really no better than any “premium” beer from your local bottle shop.

From → Beer Reviews

2 Comments
  1. Ah, Sapporo – I was born there and though I’m not any sort of beer expert, I drink it out of sentimentality. I even went to the beer museum once. They had beer flavoured caramels, true story.

    • Ha, we are hardly beer experts either 🙂 Just err.. Enthusiasts.

      The regular Sapporo (in the big silver can) is a bit of a favourite! So we were a little surprised that this didn’t live up to expectations.

      Fun Fact: Did you know that the Sapporo in most of the world (not Japan) is actually brewed in Canada?

Comments are closed.

