Skip to content

The Master Chef Speaks

by on 7 October, 2011

I Thought it was about time I got out of the kitchen and wrote something bloody well down.

I have taken it upon myself to be the self appointed Master BEER chef. Sence the formation of “the Hopful Thinkers” I have gone a bit crazy and thought that while we were trying all these different beers I sit there and think what would this type of beer be good as a cake….a bread…….brownies the list went on and on.

My little brother Bob, (HI BOB) got our dad a real good cook book that all the recipes used beer in the food. The only thing I found is that all the recipes used main stream beers not craft beers that we like to taste, so I did the only thing that should be done…………… got my self a copy of the cook book for my self and crossed out all the main stream names and use craft beers, of course.

The first recipe I tried was a beer bread.

Cheese and Onion Bread

Makes– 1 Loaf

Prep time– 10-15 Mins

Cooking time1½ to 1¾ hours

330 ml Beer (any) – I used Stoke Amber.

3 cups of self raising flour

1½ teaspoons salt

3 tablespoons sugar

1 cup of grated cheese

1 finely chopped red onoin

preheat the oven to 180 C

Bowl – sift the flour in to a large bowl and then combine with all the ingredients except the beer.

Form a well and add the beer. Mix well.

Loaf tin – Transfer the dough to a greased loaf tin.

Oven – Bake for 1½ hours or unit the crust sounds hollow when lightly tapped. Remove and stand to cool on a rack

This bread went down really well for the first real beer type food I tried it was nice and light. I’m not one to blow my own trumpet…………………. NO Wait on YES I am!!! I could give all those master chefs on tv a real run for their money.

This has been the first of many entries for the “Hopful Thinkers” and remember these words of -W.C. Fields“Everybody has to believe in something…..I believe I’ll have another drink.”

From → Beer Recipes

Comments are closed.

