Skip to content

The Master Chef goes a bit healthy

by on 8 November, 2011

As a typical looking master chef, I look like a jolly fat man. You have to lick the bowl, the spoon, the mixer… hell you have to lick every bloody thing with the sweet taste of beer in every thing I make……..and then drink the rest of the beer and 1 or 2 other beers. So I thought I’d make something a bit more healthy, still with a beer twist.


This dip I made to go with all the carrots, and sliced peppers is super easy and quick. I goes with chips and anything else you can think of.

Here’s how to make it:

Beery Cheese and Onion Dip

Serves: this is meant to serve 12 people but it can serve heaps of people

Preparation: 5-10 Minutes

Refrigeration: 1 1/2 Hours (to set the dip, you can serve straight away, it’s just a bit runny)

80ml of pale beer (I used Abbot ale, as shown)

250g light Cream Cheese (This is the standard size in the supermarket)

250g light Sour Cream (Same size as above)

32g Packet of French Onion Soup Mix (It’s the Maggi mix- I think its better then just the normal onion)

Bowl: Stand the Cream cheese until it’s at room temp, and beat until fluffy. Add the beer, sour cream and soup mix and then beat until well mixed.

Refrigerate and serve with chips, or corn chips or veges like I did.

As you can see you can put a healthy spin with beer and as always here is something to remember……

“Not all chemicals are bad. Without chemicals such as hydrogen and oxygen, for example, there would be no way to make water, a vital ingredient in beer.”

From → Beer Recipes

Comments are closed.

