Skip to content

The Master Chef’s 3 Part Brewery Tour, Part 1 – Queenstown and Arrowtown

by on 2 December, 2011

A few months ago, my better and more beautiful half Michele and I (the Master Chef) were down in Queenstown on a short break.  Michele was working so I had time to find some craft beer places and try them out.

Taps at the Dux de Lux... which to have!?

I arrived early in the morning and by the time I had found Michele and checked in at the hotel it was about 11 and I needed a drink.  I found myself at the Dux de Lux.  I had just missed the head brewer by one day, so I couldn’t have a look out the back, but it was nice to have a beer at 11am and txt all the boys and mock them while they were meant to be working.

After heading over to Milford Sound for an overnight stay, we came back and Michele was looking in the local info guide, and asked if I knew about another brewery in Arrow town?  Named, funnily enough, the Arrow Brewing Company.  I didn’t, so off we went, and as luck would have it the brewer, John Timpany, was there cleaning the brewery.  He was was happy to show us around the area where he makes all the beer.  The mash tun, the kettle, and most of the other beer machines, looked just right as through it had been part of the plan when the building was made but we found out that in a previous life John was a stainless steel genius and made most, if not all, the stuff himself.

John talked about how he made his beer, and the ethos of other brewers.  After going and meeting other brewers his words are still in my head, “every brewer that visits another brewer has to honestly tell him or her what he thinks of the beer, that way he can take a good beer and make it a great beer!”

So remember dear reader of our beloved blog, the next you are in Arrowtown (just outside of Queenstown) head in and have a nice beer at The Arrow Brewing Company.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Comments are closed.